Curtain Call!

Let me just start off, by telling you, I don’t remember the last time I have laughed so much in a single day. Between three photographers, two videographers, the wedding coordinator, and two lovely newly weds, it was one crazy day…

The idea of a “Curtain Call”, was introduced by Leda of LVL Photography. In so many words, “Curtain Call” is the opportunity, to have one last “hoorah”, throw on your wedding dress, get back in that suit, and have hours devoted to making you look amazing once more. While we won’t make you jump in water, climb trees, or crawl in the dirt, it certainly isn’t out of the question. The sky is the limit.

I had the opportunity to shoot along side Leda of LVL Photography, as well as Ben Pancoast of Ben Pancoast Photography, in this test run last Saturday. Also on board, was Jennifer of Stella Event Design, and Kim from All Star Productions, both of which I had a wonderful time spending the day with. We spent the day, enjoying the company of the newly weds, Dan and Lisa, whom I’m sure thought we all had a screw loose, but were as easy to laugh, as they were to photograph.

DSC_7007 copy

DSC_7027 copy

DSC_7041 copy

We ventured down to Benton Harbor for these pictures, as previous trips last summer, showed us what it had to offer. The Art District is amazingly colorful, and full of textures, shadows, just waiting to be photographed.

DSC_7121 copy

DSC_7085 copy

DSC_7160 copy

DSC_7166 copy

DSC_7185 copy

This location in particular, was a riot. We found a small stairwell that you had to duck to go down into, with two beautifully textured green doors. It even came complete with, a shovel! Just in case we had to…Um. Well, it turned out, to be a humorous prop anyway… Next we decided to jet to the beach, to take advantage of the perfect weather we had been given for the day.

DSC_7251 copy

DSC_7247 copy

The sky was perfectly blue, and the sand warm and inviting…The sun however, was a challenge. With the help of Ben to become my portable light system, and two watery eyed, hopefully not blinded models, we managed to pull a few memorable shots.

DSC_7275 copy

DSC_7276 copy

DSC_7260 copy

We ended the day at the railroad tracks near we had started the day…Tired, hungry, dead batteries, full memory cards. Quite a day, to say the least. I want to thank everyone who shared their time and talent, and hope to see you in August.

If this is something you could see yourself doing, we are planning a marathon day August 30, 2009. Contact Jessica at jessica@stellaeventdesign.com to get the ball rolling!

About Justin Leveque

I never know what to write about myself... Life was never meant to be described, summarized, and condensed into convenient,clean, little squares... All I can tell you is that : if I could wake up and do anything else in the world, I wouldn't call myself a photographer. That being said...The only squares in my life, are for framing.
This entry was posted in Photo Shoots, Weddings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Curtain Call!

  1. dan Tavolacci says:

    Justin, I had fun saturday at the photo shoot. You are an excellent photograhper. I love your work! The Pictures are fantastic. You, Ben & Leda work very well together and I think the day was a huge success for all of you. Lisa loves the photos as well. I showed them to some friends and they wanted to have you do some pictures for them in the future. Keep up the excellent work and thank you so much for everything. I can’t wait to see all the pictures..

  2. Great photos, Justin! It was fun working with all of you…

Leave a comment